The Final Countdown: One Week

It has finally arrived! Officially, one week until I begin the journey of a lifetime with the Peace Corps in Peru. It has been one hell of a whirlwind this past year, from trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life after college graduation to deciding on following my dream. Once I received my Peace Corps invitation in March, I knew that my time was here to pursue one of my life goals and go on the most life-changing journey I will ever experience.

The amount of emotions I have experienced the past months, about leaving my beautiful life here in the states, have flip-flopped from happy to sad to nervous and everything in between. The main question I have received from friends, family and strangers about joining the Peace Corps is ‘Why?’. Here are the answers:

  • Thanks to my outstanding parents, I have led a wonderful privileged life full of love, education, travel, guidance, faith and everything in between. I have been extremely blessed, and they instilled me in early on the importance on giving back. Their amazing influence led me to pursue this opportunity, because I believe the best way to utilize my blessing in my life is by attempting to help others by sharing what I have been so thankful to receive.
  • I want to attempt to make a difference in a community or at least one person’s life, small or big, and inspire others to do the same by having a long-term investment within a public service project.
  • Be apart of something bigger than myself by challenging myself to grow in all aspects by breaking my boundaries and comfort zones as an individual by serving our country through this great organization.
  • Either confirm or disconfirm my interests in non-profit, public service and international work.

Thus, I will soon begin my 2 year and 3 month service as a Community Health Promoter. I fly to Peru’s Capital, Lima, next week to begin my 3-month extensive training with other volunteers within the health, environmental, and water & sanitation sectors. I begin living with a host family right away after a short retreat with the other volunteers. During my 8th week of training, I will receive my permanent placement for the next two years, which can be anywhere from the mountains, coast or amazon, and will then move to another host family. There are many unknown aspects of my working and living arrangements within the coming months, which is somewhat scary but has prepared me to go in with no expectations and be willing to adapt accordingly.

As the final days tick away, I will be cramming in getting everything together; as well as saying some very hard goodbyes to my beloved friends and family. Thank you to everyone who has helped and supported me throughout this whole crazy decision process. You all know who you are, and you all mean the world to me (also I will miss the hell out of all of you).

This is the first blog I have ever had and it is will be used to update family & friends of my times in Peru. I apologize in advance, as it may not be updated frequently due to limited Internet access. Please follow if you want to read what is bound to be some interesting material. Also feel free to contact me at jamielhackbarth@gmail.com if you have any questions!

Friends & Family – My mailing address for the first 3 months is:

Jamie Hackbarth
Cuerpo de Paz/Perú
Calle Via Láctea 132, Surco
Lima 33, Perú

Now let the Peace Corps journey begin :)!

Published by

jamielhackbarth

Peace Corps Volunteer Peru

Leave a Reply

